Thursday, July 30, 2009

Lewis University

About Lewis University


Located 30 minutes southwest of Chicago, Lewis University is a comprehensive, Catholic university where the traditions of liberal learning and preparation for professional life give the university its educational identity and mission focus. Lewis provides 70 undergraduate majors and programs of study, 22 graduate programs, and accelerated programs for working adults through the Colleges of Arts and Sciences, Business, Education and Nursing and Health Professions. Premier programs include aviation, criminal/social justice, education, nursing, and business. Lewis is one of many schools sponsored by the De La Salle Christian Brothers with over 325 years of teaching experience in the Lasallian tradition.


Founded in 1932 under the direction of the Chicago Archdiocese and Bishop Bernard J. Sheil, Lewis began as the Holy Name Technical School for boys. Aviation technology was the special emphasis of instruction and the origin of today’s highly regarded Department of Aviation. In 1952 the school was renamed the Lewis College of Science and Technology. In 1960, the De La Salle Christian Brothers - members of a 326-year-old religious order devoted exclusively to teaching and named after Saint John Baptist de La Salle, their founder and Patron Saint of Educators – assumed direction of the institution. Today, with growing enrollment, outstanding programs, experienced faculty and motivated students, Lewis University is recognized as one of the finest, mid-sized, comprehensive Catholic universities in the country.


Private, co-educational, founded in 1932.


Catholic and Lasallian. One of approximately 100 universities worldwide sponsored by the De La Salle Christian Brothers.


Main campus situated on 376 beautiful acres in Romeoville, Illinois just 30 minutes southwest of Chicago.

Campus Sites

Romeoville, Chicago, Hickory Hills, Oak Brook, Shorewood, Tinley Park, Chicago


5,600 total students – 4,000 undergraduate and 1,600 graduate students. 10th largest private in Illinois.


199 full-time. Student / faculty ratio is 12:1

Colleges and Schools

College of Arts and Sciences
College of Business
College of Education
College of Nursing and Health Professions
School for Professional and Continuing Education


Associate of Science (A.S.)
Bachelor of Arts (B.A.)
Bachelor of Elected Studies (B.E.S.)
Bachelor of Science (B.S.)
Bachelor of Science in Nursing (B.S.N.)
Master of Arts (M.A.)
Master of Business Administration (M.B.A.)
Master of Education (M.Ed.)
Master of Science (M.S.)
Master of Science in Nursing (M.S.N.)
Certificate of Advanced Study (C.A.S.)
Doctor of Education (Ed.D.)


More than 70 undergraduate majors and areas of study and 20 graduate programs.


Professional and career preparation in a liberal arts tradition


Member of the NCAA Division II and the Great Lakes Valley Conference in 18 sports for men
and women.
Basketball –M/W
Baseball -M
Cross-Country –M/W
Golf – M/W
Soccer – M/W
Softball - W
Swimming – M/W
Tennis – M/W
Track and Field - M/W
Volleyball - M/W


More than 30 active student organizations.

Residence Halls

Eleven residence halls housing 1,100 students.




Named “A Best Midwestern College” by The Princeton Review
Rated “Top Tier” by U.S. News and World Report
Largest bachelor’s degree program in Nursing in Illinois
Nationally ranked Flight Team
Nationally ranked Mock Trial Team
Award winning student newspaper The Flyer
First all digital college radio station in the country
One of only 14 accredited programs in Athletic Training among private universities in Illinois
Largest undergraduate program in Criminal Social/Justice among private universities in Illinois
The oldest Aviation program among universities in Illinois
The only University aviation program in Illinois with an airport on campus
Located in Will County, one of the fastest growing counties in the country
Largest graduate program in School Counseling and Guidance in Illinois
Nursing, Aviation and Education students recently achieved 100% pass rate on certification exams

Accreditations & Affiliations

Lewis University is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association.

The College of Nursing and Health Professions' basic professional program is approved by the State of Illinois Department of Professional Regulation, and all nursing programs, graduate and undergraduate, are fully accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (One Dupont Circle, Washington DC, 20036) for the 10-year maximum term.

Department of Aviation programs are approved by the Federal Aviation Administration under Title 14 of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR): Approved Dispatcher Program, Approved Flight School, and Approved Aviation Maintenance Technician School.

All teacher education programs are approved for entitlement by the Illinois State Board of Education in conjunction with the Illinois State Teacher Certification Board. In addition, the College of Education has earned NCATE (National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education) accreditation.

Inquiries concerning regional accreditation should be directed to:
North Central Association of Colleges and Schools
30 North LaSalle Street, Suite 2400, Chicago, Illinois, 60602-2504.
By phone: (800) 621-7440 or (312) 263-0456.

1 comment:

  1. Good details of the university and its branches offered. A handy information for the students,who aspire to go there.As such Lewis University has got a rich history.
    Communication Program